Our Board

Our board represents interests in coal, gold and other metallic minerals, aggregates and industrial minerals, exploration, technical services and research.

Chris Baker

CEO, Straterra

Chris holds a BSc (Hons) in Mineral Technology (1976), and an MBA (1994) from the University of Otago, New Zealand. 

Continue reading

Brent Francis - Chair

Coal Association of NZ / New Zealand Coal & Carbon

Brent is the Chief Executive and majority shareholder of the NZCC group of companies. Commencing mining in 1982 in the Southland fields he has extensive experience in areas operational and marketing.

Continue reading

Jared Johnston

Association of Quarries and Aggregates (AQA)

Jared is is Chair of the AQA Executive Board and has recently taken over the management of our 250 plus staff in this busy area that encompasses Queenstown Lakes District along with the wider Central Otago area.

Continue reading

Alison Paul

OceanaGold Corporation

Alison is the Corporate Affairs and Legal Manager for gold miner OceanaGold’s New Zealand operations and has been with the company since 2004. 

Continue reading

Mark Franklin

Stevenson Group

Mark is Chief Executive of Stevenson Group, a position which he has held since early 2010.   Prior to his current role, Mark was founding Chief Executive of TZ1, the global carbon registry, and prior to this Chief Executive of Vector.

Continue reading

Richard Tacon

Bathurst Resources

Since starting his career in the 1970s, Richard has worked in almost every role in the coal mining industry. Richard studied at the Otago School of Mines in New Zealand. 

Continue reading

Sioban Hartwell

GHD New Zealand

Sioban is a member of the GHD New Zealand Operating Centre Management Group (OCMG) and is the Market Lead for Water in New Zealand.

Continue reading